The surface of the mine contains original buildings and equipment that were essential to the operation of Central Deborah in its mining days.
Explore the old Blacksmith's Shop, the First Aid Room and the Carbide Lamp Room.
You will be amazed by the Engine Room which contains the Winder that was installed in 1945 and is notable as the only complete working example in Australia. It is still used daily by our mine crew who meticulously maintain the underground workings.
The surface also displays buildings and plant equipment from other mines that used to operate in Bendigo, including the Deborah Extended, South Deborah, North Deborah and Monument Hill Mines.
Be sure to visit the interpretive museum to see the “Hand of Faith” gold nugget replica … the Hand of Faith weighs 27.2kg, was found near Bendigo and is significant as the largest gold nugget ever found with a metal detector.
Due to maintenance, at this time the Poppet Head and Trestleway are unable to be accessed. We apologise for any inconvenience.